Then I cried a lot…

میں  درِ رحماں  گیا،  جا  کر بہت رویا

پھر واپس میکدے میں، آ کر بہت رویا

I went to the house of worship

I cried a lot there

Then I came back to the tavern

And cried a lot there

 

جب آے یاد مجھ کو، گناہ سارے کل کو

خدا کے آگے سر، جھکا  کر بہت رویا

And yesterday

I recounted all my sins

I bowed my head before God

And cried a lot for forgiveness

 

اقرارِ  عشق  پے  وہ  کچھ  بدل سی گئی

جو بات نہ سنانی تھی، سنا کر بہت رویا

On the confession of love

Things changed

The words I was not supposed to say

Made me cry a lot once I had said them

 

جو  ترے  سامنے  رونا  ممنوع ٹھہرا

تو میں چراغِ  شام، بھجا کر بہت رویا

And hopelessness

Is forbidden before you

So I turned out the lights

And cried in the darkness

 

قسم  یاد تھی ان کے آگے نہ رونے کی

ان  سے  اپنا چہرہ ، چھپا کر بہت رویا

I swore

I would not cry

Before her

So I hid my face before shedding tears

 

جو  تجھ  سے  دوری ہی  میرا مقدرٹھہرا

میں اپنے ہاتھ اپنا کفن، سجا کر بہت رویا

If I am destined to be

Away from you

I will decorate my burial shroud

And cry as I do it

 

جانتا  تھا  کے  اسی راستے سے آئیں گے

سرِ رہگذر ان سے نظر، ملا کر بہت رویا

I knew she would walk

Upon this path

I wept uncontrollably

When I met her gaze

 

امتحانِ عشق ہی تو تھی میری جاں طلبی

وہ  یوں  میرا عشق، آزما  کر بہت رویا

And he wanted

To take my life as a test of love

He cried a lot

After testing my love

 

کیسے اسے معاف نہ کرتا؟ دل صاف نہ کرتا؟

کے وہ کافر ادا میرا دل،  دکھا  کر  بہت رویا

And how could I not forgive him?

How could I hold a grudge?

He cried a lot

After hurting me

 

عاشقی صبر طلب سہی غالب پر میں تو

شکوہ کر، شکایت کر، گلہ کر بہت رویا

As per the words of Ghalib

Love demands patience

Yet I cry a lot

With laments, complaints, plaints

 

ایک دریا لیے پھرے، استاد اپنی آنکھوں میں

ان  کو  اپنا  زخمِ  دل،  دکھا  کر  بہت  رویا

You’ll find a river in his eyes

As he cries

While he shows

The wounds on his heart

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment