How could I trust you?

دیں بدل دیا اُس نے میرا، اب اسلام کا اعتبار کیا

کہیں قبلہ ہی بدل نہ دے، اِس امام کا اعتبار کیا؟

.

ہر شے بدل دیں گے آپ، سیاست پلٹ دیں گے آپ

لائیں گے آپ نظامِ نو، پر نظام کا اعتبار کیا؟

.

کل تک جو کچھ حلال تھا، آج تو نے حرام کیا

یا شیخ یہ تو بتا تیرے حرفِ حرام کا اعتبار کیا؟   

.

وہ میرے تک نا آ سکا، اور میں اس تک نہ جا سکا

جو جام لب تک نہ آ سکا، اس جام کا اعتبار کیا؟  

.

جنوں ہی میرا کام ہے، جنوں جو آتا جاتا ہے

اور جو کام مستقل نا ہو، اس کام کا اعتبار کیا؟

.

لکھ کے ان کو پیام بھیجا، پیام ساتھ سلام بھیجا

سلام پڑھ کے ہنس بولے، اس پیام کا اعتبار کیا؟

.

اک غلام ان کا آیا، لے کے ساتھ حرفِ وفا

دل دھڑک دھڑک بولا، غلام کا اعتبار کیا؟

.

بولے یہ ہم استاد سے، زندگی تو خداداد ہے

برجستہ یہ جواب ملا، اس انعام کا اعتبار کیا؟  

  

 

He has changed my faith

How do I trust my creed?

How can I trust him?

He just may change true north!

 

So you will change everything

Change politics forever

You will bring about a new system?

How can I trust the system?

 

And whatsoever was prohibited till yesterday

Is now permitted

How am I to trust

Your sanctions?

 

I could not go to it

And it could not come to me

That cup which never touched my lips

Can not be trusted

 

My time is whiled away in madness

It comes and goes

You may say it is my job

But temporary work can not be relied upon

 

So I wrote her a letter

Sent my greetings with it

She read my greeting and laughed, saying

How am I to trust this?

 

She sent a slave to me

Bearing a word of love

My heart reminded me

Do not trust the slave

 

So I reminded him

This life is a gift from God

He smirked and said

How do I trust this gift?

1 Comment

Filed under Ghazal, Poetry

One response to “How could I trust you?

  1. fromarstsbluemouth

    Love this

    Like

Leave a comment