Left Behind…

لفظ سارے ہمارے، سلام میں رہ گئے

راز  تو  بہت  تھے، پیام میں رہ گئے

I had to say a few things

But I could not go beyond a greeting

There was a lot I had to share

The content of my message was lacking

 

ہاں  کیا  تھا  اک  وعدہ،  سجدہِ  سہو  کا

سجدے تک کہاں پہنچے؟ قیام میں رہ گئے

And I had made a promise

To rectify my errors

I could not come to a prostration

I was left standing apologetically

 

جوش ایسا تھا کے جہاں سے لڑ جاتے

ارادے تو تلوار تھے، نیام میں رہ گئے

In rage

I could have fought the world

But my intentions

Became swords left in scabbards

 

کیا  بتاؤں  اب  تجھے  میں  اس  امت کا حآل؟

کچھ کفر میں رہ گئے، کچھ اسلام میں رہ گئے

And what do I tell you

About the people

Some are lost in disbelief

Others lost in their beliefs

 

تری اطاعت سے ہی تو نفس صاف ہوا میرا

جنسِ  مروت  و  وفا،  غلام  میں  رہ  گئے

And it was only in obedience to you

That I found guidance

Love and faith

Are all that I have

 

نا  جانے  وہ  کب آے  اور کب چل دیے

ہم  ان  کے  آنے  کے انتظام میں رہ گئے

I do not know

Whence she came or left

I was too busy

Making plans for her visit

 

اب  تو  وہ  نگاہیں  بھی  نہ ملائیں ہم سے

کبھی  ہم  خاص  تھے، عوام  میں رہ گئے

And now she does not even

Look upon me

I was special once but now

I am a part of the masses

 

حکمِ  قاضی  ہوا کے  پڑھ  حافظ وخیام

حافظ تک کون جائے؟ خیام میں رہ گئے

And the judge told me

To study Hafiz and Khayam

Who can get to the philosophy of Hafiz?

The ecstasy of Khayam enthralls me

 

حرفِ  وَلَا تَفَرَّقُو  تو  سنا تھا پر ہم

فرقہ بندی و تلاشِ امام میں رہ گئے

Yes we recall the command

To not form groups within the body

But we became too engaged

In finding a leader and making groups

 

یہ  بھی  سنا ہے بارہِ  استاد  ہم نے

آدمی  تو  نیک پر کلام میں رہ گئے

And I have heard this

About him

Although he is a nice man,

His words leave a lot to be desired

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Ghazal, Poetry

Leave a comment